1994 Women's Volleyball Team Athletic Team Inductee Athletic Hall of Fame – Class of 2015

The 1994 Holton Red Devils' volleyball team, coached by Ed Bailey, made it all the way to the women's Lower Peninsula Class C state championship match in 1993, before losing to the Wolverines of Burton-Atherton, 15-5, 16-14. With many of the same players returning in 1994, Holton would not be denied in a return trip to the state championship game.

After defeating Sutton's Bay (15-6, 16-14) on March 18, 1994 at Vicksburg High School in the opening round of the state playoffs, Holton advanced to the semi-final round of the playoffs on March 19, 1994, also at Vicksburg High School, where they defeated the third ranked Comets of Hanover-Horton (15-11, 15-9) to advance to the state championship game held that same day at Kalamazoo Central High School. The Red Devils made a statement in the state championship game by defeating Pewamo – Westphalia (16-14, 15-8) to earn the first ever volleyball state championship for a Muskegon area team, as well as the first and only state championship in any sport at Holton High School. The team finished the 1994 season with a record of 55 - 2 - 1.

Revered as one of the most athletic groups of dedicated female athletes in the history of Holton High School, the 1994 team finished with a two year record of 111-5-3 over the 1993 and 1994 seasons, for a near 0.950 winning percentage, while also winning 47 straight. The volleyball team amassed an amazing 148-12-6 record over a three year period of time. The team finished ranked #1 in the Class C Michigan Interscholastic Volleyball Coaches Association (MIVCA) rankings, while also claiming the Greater Muskegon Athletic Association (GMAA) county championship for all classes, and earning championships in invitational tournaments at Big Rapids, Corunna, Muskegon Community College, and Holton earlier throughout the season. The team finished conference play with a record of 12-0, which earned the team first place honors in the Newaygo County Athletic Association (NCAA) for the third straight year.

Team members include: Coach Ed Bailey, Kelly Becklin, Ryan Becklin (manager), Amy DeLong, Dawn Long, Erin Monette, Jennifer Nichols, Dawn Pederson, Lori Swenson, Jennifer Thornton, Amber Trygstad, and Amy Vandenberg.

